Steering Committee

Transforming Healthcare Through University-State Partnerships is supported through a collaboration with the Academy Health State-University Partnership Learning Network. This Network is guided by a nine-person steering committee comprised of state officials, academic researchers in state policy centers, and other key players working in the state research space. Through the Learning Network, the steering committee works to develop strategies and activities that benefit state-university partnerships, and supports the development of partnerships in states that do not currently have them.

As of July 2014, members of the Academy Health State-University Partnership Learning Network are as follows:

  • Terry Dougherty, CHAIR
    Executive Director, Health Systems Transformation at University of Massachusetts Medical School’s Commonwealth Medicine division (formerly Director of the Massachusetts Medicaid program)
  • Cynthia Woodcock
    Executive Director, Hilltop Institute, University of Maryland – Baltimore County
  • Andrew Bindman
    Director, California Medicaid Research Institute
  • Lorin Ranbom see the attached for his bio
    Director, Government Resource Center, Ohio Colleges of Medicine
  • Donna Friedsam
    Health Policy Programs Director, University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute
  • Steve Fitton
    Michigan Medicaid Director
  • Valerie Harr
    New Jersey Medicaid Director
  • Mark Schaefer
    Director of Healthcare Innovation, Connecticut Office of the Healthcare Advocate
  • Andrew Barnes
    Department of Healthcare Policy and Research, Virginia Commonwealth University